Posted on

The road to Thesis

When I made my debut as a future sociologist in 2011, I wanted to do a thesis connected to people with autism, but I decided not to push through with it since there were three theses done by other UPLB students.

A couple of months later (late 2013), I was focused on the funeral industry as it was (in my opinion) not the focus of many academic papers in the country, including theses. My planned thesis topic then was about the industry’s reaction to media portrayals about them but an associate professor in the Department of Social Sciences suggested that I focus on specific interactions between funeral workers and other people.

Then, another suggested topic showed up courtesy of a contact on Twitter. It was about red flags or danger signals for Filipino students who are more likely to have depression or become more suicidal. Apparently, many studies on suicide are foreign, according to her. I responded positively and she hoped that my future thesis would bring more clarity regarding those things.

Now, here’s the next step: How would I know the warning signs? And how would I dispense the questions tackling those signs? But before that, I need to change my current option from practicum and pass two subjects that tackle statistics.

Postscript: This proposed thesis topic would uncover reasons why students get depressed or become an heroes (An hero is a synonym for committing suicide per Know Your Meme (2014), though Encyclopedia Dramatica (2014) stated that it is not to be confused with suicide – instead, they mentioned that an heroes are created “when otherwise normal and rational people fondly eulogize and honor those that have killed themselves before them”).

 

References/literature cited

Encyclopedia Dramatica (2014, February 11). An Hero. Retrieved from https://encyclopediadramatica.es/index.php?title=An_hero&oldid=622366 on April 3, 2014

Know Your Meme (2013, June 13). An Hero. Retrieved from http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/an-hero on April 3, 2014

One response to “The road to Thesis

  1. Pingback: The road to Thesis (update 1) | IAN LOPEZ

Comments are closed.