Posted on

Damn the Typhoon

It has been over 24 hours since Ondoy brought aquatic hell over Luzon. Apparently, this kind of hell is even worse than Milenyo. From what I’ve seen and heard in the past eight hours on so – on the television, on the radio, and on the internet, people were crying for help, as they were stranded. Their houses flooded, the streets overflowing with water, and everything else was fucked.

During Milenyo, the house was flooded, but it remianed mostly intact. This time, there was no flooding, but the water is close to toenail deep in my place. However, this kind of typhoon brought more water, and this turned Metro Manila into a place of suffering that is full of water.
My mother and my sister are supposed to be in Dasmariñas, Cavite for some gathering. Instead, they were stranded along Governors Drive along Carmona, Cavite. Even worse, the driver took lots of wrong turns and they were lost somewhere in Molino (Bacoor).

But the people in Marikina, Pasig and Cainta fare even worse. In fact, Cristine Reyes’ house in Marikina is fucking flooded, with the water reaching the 2nd floor of their house. I do hope that she, and everyone else in that area are either safe and/or rescued from that God damned flood. This flood proves time and again that everyone can be affected by any natural or man-made disaster.
For me, Ondoy is both a natural and man-made disaster. Natural, since it is a typhoon. Nowadays, it has some man-made elements to it – global warming (very obvious nowadays), obstructions to waterways and drainages (like garbage), and poor drainage systems. I feel that Ondoy is a bit Katrina-esque, since it damaged, if not destroyed most areas in New Orleans. One day, we may encounter another “big one” within five years.

I feel bad, since I can’t do anything to help my kababayans who are trapped, stranded, or need to be rescued. I can only do (for now) is hope, pray and believe.

Good morning, Philippines. We can survive this. We can see the rainbow coming out later in the day. I SAY WE CAN AND WE WILL.

One response to “Damn the Typhoon

  1. Pingback: Damn the Typhoon (part 2) « IAN LOPEZ

Comments are closed.