Posted on

Farewell, Francis M

I join the Filipino people in mourning, since Francis Magalona, a very talented musician and national icon, has died of leukemia at 44. (See this related article by Philippine Entertainment Portal via GMANews.TV) He will be surely missed, as his music influenced the Filipino youth and culture since the 1990’s and into the 2000’s. (I bet that his wikipedia article will be bombarded with edits due to the sad news.)

To end this post, let me put it this way:

You may not have survived 2009, but you have, in my own opinion, survived all the challenges thrown at you. Thank you for your music, which inspired most of us. We’ll never forget you, as your music is now part of our heritage. You work will never go to waste, as a new generation of Filipinos will appreciate your work.

Be proud over there. Don’t forget to represent us!

UPDATE: The Tambays found out his death earlier tham I am, they were quick with their so-caled reactions. More info here, some “clues” based on the “discussions” can be found here and here. Stay tuned to the Tambayan talk page, and I hope that you don’t have to fuck up those pages.